St Martin's School

An independent, co-educational preparatory school.

History

St. Martin’s School was founded 1920 in a house in Langley Park, in the dip of the road alongside a stream which ran down to The Broadway and into Silk Stream. Unfortunately, it was subsequently destroyed in the 1940’s bombings. Eventually St. Martin’s School outgrew that accommodation and moved to its current location in Goodwyn Avenue, Mill Hill. 

Miss Joss took over the ownership and headship in 1947. She remained in that position until 1973 when Mrs Gillian Murray purchased the school and remained for the next twenty one years.  Mrs Angela Wilson became the owner and Headteacher in 1996 and developed the strong love of Music and Art that we continue in our curriculum today. Over 20 years later, in December 2016, Mrs Wilson announced her retirement and  our current Proprietor, Mrs Joanna Wilson, took over the running of the school appointing Dr Jason Walak as the new Headteacher. His legacy was encouraging the children to have a growth mindset to learning and growing the school in numbers once again. Mrs Mbah became our current Headteacher in April 2019 and has worked with the St Martin’s community to agree and develop the values tree based on both our rich history and current educational practices.